Business Links

Got a great business idea and not sure where to start.

Here’s a great list of useful information when starting a business in WA.

Be the Mumpreneur you want to be.  Go for it.

ABN – Australian Business Register www.abr.gov.au

ATO –  GST Registration TFN PAYG Withholding –

Australian Tax Office (ATO) www.ato.gov.au

Business Name Registration and Company Registration –

Department of Commerce Info Line 1300 304 014 www.bizline.commerce.wa.gov.au

Australian Securities & Investments Commission (ASIC) 1300 300 630 www.asic.gov.au

Business Name Search Availability –

http://asic.gov.au/for-business/registering-a-business-name/before-you-start/business-name-availability/

Domain Names –

AusRegistry 03 98663710 www.ausregistry.com.au

Crazy Domains www.crazydomains.com.au

Employment

Workplace Infoline (National) 1300 363 264

Wageline (State) 1300 655 266

Fair work Ombudsman https://www.fairwork.gov.au/

WorkCover WA (Workers Compensation) 9388 5555 www.workcover.wa.gov.au

Worksafe WA (Occupational Health & Safety) 1300 307 877 www.commerce.wa.gov.au/worksafe

Consumer & Employment Protection (DOCEP) www.commerce.wa.gov.au

Australian Apprenticeships 13 38 73 www.australianapprenticeships.gov.au

WA Apprenticeships 13 19 54 www.trainingwa.wa.gov.au/apprenticecentre

Franchising

Australian Competition & Consumer Commission (ACCC) 1300 302 502 www.acc.gov.au

Franchise Council of Australia 1300 669 030 www.franchise.org.au

Free Educational Courses/Professional Development/Training

Business Station ECU – http://www.ecubusinesscentre.com.au/

ECU Office of Research and Innovation http://www.ecu.edu.au/centres/office-of-research-and-innovation/overview

Small Business Development Corporations www.smallbusiness.wa.gov.au

Department of Education & Training – 9238 2400 www.det.wa.edu.au/training

 

Funding & Grants

Grant Finder business.gov.au http://www.business.gov.au/grants-and-assistance/Pages/default.aspx

Grant Smart www.grantsmart.com.au

Business Grants Australia – http://australianbusinessgrants.com.au/

Lottery West Grants – http://www.lotterywest.wa.gov.au/grants

Many Rivers

http://www.manyrivers.org.au/

WA State Office

Francosis 0477 329 093

Innovation, Research & Development & Commercialisation Intellectual Property

AusIndustry 13 28 46 www.ausindustry.gov.au

Australian Copyright Council 02 9318 1788 www.copyright.org.au

IP Australia (trademarks, patents, designs) 1300 651 010 www.ipaustralia.gov.au

ECU Office of Research and Innovation http://www.ecu.edu.au/centres/office-of-research-and-innovation/overview

Insurance

Find a broker www.niba.com.au

International Trade (Imports & Exports)

Australian Customs Services 1300 363 263  www.customs.gov.au

Australian Quarantine & Inspection Service (AQIS) 1800 020 504 www.aqis.gov.au

Australian Trade Commission (Austrade) 13 28 78 www.austrade.gov.au

Department of Agriculture & Food WA 9368 3333 www.agric.wa.gov.au

Export Finance & Insurance Corporation (EFIC) 1800 887 588 www.efic.gov.au

Legal

Department of the Attorney General 13 67 57 www.dotag.wa.gov.au

Small Claims Court www.magistratescourt.wa.gov.au

State Law Publishers 9321 7688 www.slp.wa.gov.au

The Arts Law Centre of Australia 1800 221 457 www.artslaw.com.au

Legal Aid www.legalaid.com.au

Licensing

Australian Business License Information Services www.ablis.business.gov.au

Small Business Development Corporations www.smallbusiness.wa.gov.au

Research & Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics 1300 135 070 www.abs.gov.au

Business.gov.au

State Library of WA 9427 3111 www.slwa.wa.gov.au

Selling to the Government

Government Electronic Marketing Place 1800 225 468 www.gem.wa.gov.au

Standards

Standards Australia 1800 035 822 www.standards.com.au

Taxation

Australian Tax Office (ATO) 13 28 66 www.ato.gov.au

Office of State Revenue 9242 1400 1300 368 364 www.dft.wa.gov.au

Trade Mark Database

ATMOSS – Australia Trade Mark Online Search System www.ipaustralia.gov.au

Trade Practices

Australian Competition & Consumer Commissions (ACCC) 1300 302 502 www.accc.gov.au